Men's Basketball

Moser Looks to Round Out Men’s Basketball Roster

Hanako Maki | The PhoenixLoyola head coach Porter Moser celebrates the Ramblers' Elite Eight victory over Kansas State March 24.

Loyola has one more scholarship left to offer for its men’s basketball team next year, but head coach Porter Moser said he won’t sign a recruit just to fill the spot. Instead, he might wait until he finds his ideal recruit, Moser said during a conference call with Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) coaches and officials and media members.

The NCAA allows Division I men’s basketball teams 13 scholarships per season because the NCAA gives Division I and Division II schools roughly $2.9 billion in scholarships. Moser already has 12 spots filled for next year, and the final spot could be filled with a transfer student or with an incoming first-year who would would sign a financial aid agreement, which is less binding than a National Letter of Intent. The deadline to sign a National Letter of Intent was May 16. 

Loyola lost five players to graduation after last season — including swingman Donte Ingram, who committed to the NBA Summer League with the Chicago Bulls June 21.

Moser signed four incoming first-years for next year — four-star center Franklin Agunanne, three-star guards Isaiah Bujdoso and Cooper Kaifes and guard Tykei Greene.

Swingman Aher Uguak will be eligible after transferring from University of New Mexico. Uguak sat out last season because of NCAA transfer rules.

Moser said he and his staff are working to fill the final scholarship spot for next season, but said they could leave it for next year’s recruiting class if they don’t find their ideal player.

Moser and the Ramblers received their first verbal commitment from next year’s class when Paxson Wojcik announced his decision on Twitter June 24. Wojcik, who’ll be a senior at La Lumiere School in the fall, can’t officially sign a National Letter of Intent until the early signing period begins in November.

“There are scenarios we’re looking at, but … [we’re] not going to take anything just to take something,” Moser said. “If not, we’ll hold it in the 2019 class.”

The Ramblers are set to return six scholarship players next season, including three starters — MVC Player of the Year Clayton Custer, Arch Madness All-Tournament Team nominee Marques Townes and MVC Freshman of the Year Cameron Krutwig.

(Visited 397 times, 1 visits today)
Next Story