Film & TV

Star-studded ‘Avengers: Endgame’ Culminates End of Marvel’s ‘The Infinity Saga’

Featured Video Play Icon

The Avengers, a group of superheroes based on Stan Lee’s Marvel comic series, assemble once again to defeat Thanos (Josh Brolin in “Avengers: Endgame.” “Avengers: Endgame,” released April 25, is the 22nd and final movie in a series dubbed “The Infinity Saga” by brothers and directors Anthony and Joe Russo.

The movie features all the main characters of the 21 movies before “Avengers: Endgame.” This movie centers around the original six Avengers: Tony Stark/Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), Steve Rogers/Captain America (Chris Evans), Bruce Banner/the Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), Thor Odinson (Chris Hemsworth), Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Clint Barton/Hawkeye/Ronin (Jeremy Renner).

“Avengers: Endgame” is the conclusion to the events that took place in “Avengers: Infinity War.” The film has become the first film to ever break more than $1 Billion in global receipts in its opening weekend, according to the Los Angeles Times.

In “Avengers: Endgame,” the Avengers attempt to undo the annihilation caused by Thanos, a Titan who seeks to decimate half of all beings in order to create stability in the universe, in the previous film in the franchise.

Following Thanos’ genocide of half the beings in the universe, also called his “decimation,” the Avengers aim to reverse the effects, but they struggle to find a solution. The decimation is a result of Thanos’ collection of the six infinity stones — six dangerous and powerful gems that give universe altering power to whoever possesses them — throughout the 22 movie saga.

Hopeless with nowhere to turn, the Avengers refuse to give up and seek a way to bring back all the people lost.

After returning from the quantum realm — a dimension accessible through subatomic shrinking where space and time are irrelevant — Scott Lang/Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) believes he has an idea to reverse the effects of Thanos’ decimation. The remaining two Guardians of the Galaxy following the decimation, Rocket (Bradley Cooper) and Nebula (Karen Gillan), join the team to help bring down Thanos.

The film brings together aspects from prior Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) movies while adding Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel (Brie Larson) into the fold to finish the star-studded superhero lineup.

The Russo brothers are able to create a perfect balance within this film. This movie will likely make the audience laugh, cry, applaud and fly out of their seats with no dull moment to be found in the three-hour-long movie.

The movie features unexpected twists, surprising turns and jaw-dropping moments that will leave the audience wanting to rewatch the movie.

As “The Infinity Saga” concludes, Thanos’ role as the main antagonist in the MCU as the Russo brothers will likely seek to find a new antagonist with an expanded universe following the purchase of additional Marvel characters from 20th Century Fox earlier this year.

“Avengers: Endgame,” rated PG-13, is in theaters nationwide.

(Visited 418 times, 1 visits today)
Next Story